Growing my group by reaching out to Gen Z on Tik Tok

Kelsey Hundley
2 min readNov 2, 2020

I remember last year, when I thought I was too old Tik Tok and I thought all the content was just dancing teenagers.

And while yes, that is a lot of it, there is so much content out there about so many things and there is a place for everyone. So after downloading the app earlier this year, I’ve learned so many things, including a few Tik Tok dances.

So I chose to use Tik Tok to promote my Facebook group. Since the topic of my group is plants I thought my real target audience was Gen Z. I do want millennials in my group, however, lots of millennials are currently homeowners and therefore buy more expensive plants for decor or for their gardens. And since Gen Z is still in school or just now graduating, being a plant parent is more of a hobby and for fun.

As you also know Millennials are not having as many children, but absolutely love dogs. For Gen Z who is very independent, dogs are still too much work so they have turned to plants for minimal caring. I think the new craze for the following generation will be candles for literally no caring effort.

So here is my Tik Tok I made to encourage Gen Z to join my group:

For just a 5 second video, this actually took so many tries. I don’t know how Tik Tok stars do it.

So I used Tokboard.com and some research on the app to see what sounds are trending. I thought this sounds was perfect to encourage people to join. The sound is very humorous and I think makes me seem more approachable to new people that may want to join my group.

I’ve found some success in creating Tik Toks for my group because it’s helping me reach new people and I want to use the app to create content for my group as well.

--

--